Remembering My Aunt Betty

 

Recently I was given the honor of delivering my first Eulogy. I felt panic, honor, responsibility, but an opportunity to remember my Aunt Betty, and as well My Mom.

clip_image002

They were Sisters, and more importantly friends. Don’t get me wrong, like all families, there were sometimes challenges, but I do believe that brought them closer.

They are now resting comfortably, and very close to each other, and I’m guessing sitting around the table, sharing a Bottle of moose, and a drink or two, with my Uncle Charl, and Uncle Ray.. There’s a Big Janes Family re-union happening right now in Heaven, and I’m guessing they make get kicked out. Smile Probably not!!

For those who know me, you know I tried to make it as light, but respectful as possible.

For those who didn’t have the opportunity to be at the service, I thought I would post it online. I know my Mom, and My Aunt Betty HATED to be on the internet, so I do this, FOR THEM. Smile  Love you Mom, Aunt Ruth, Uncle Charl and Aunt Betty, and I had a Real Nice visit with you this morning.  BTW: Your Phone bills should be a lot cheaper now!

NL09day6 (23)

My Aunt Betty

Well, I’m a bit of Nerd, Geek, and When I was asked to deliver a Eulogy for My Aunt Betty, I had to Google it. After reading a number of entries, I quickly realized I had to go to my Uncle Bob. He’s given me a lot of advice over the years, and I had to go to him one more time. I quickly realized, that his advice was the most sage advice.

For those who don’t know me, my name is Kent Goobie, and I have the pleasure of having a great Aunt, and more importantly a second mom in my life.

A year ago I lost my mom, my aunt Betty’s Sister.. That was a tough time for me especially, but I couldn’t have got through it without her. I saw so much of my mom in my Aunt Betty. I remember a phone call with my Aunt Betty and Uncle Bob, saying, “I hope you don’t mind, but I’m going to need to call you from time to time, because I need to speak to Mom, and you make that happen for me”. Uncle Bob, I hope you don’t mind, but I’m going to need to speak to Aunt Betty from time to time, and you will make that happen for me, I hope you don’t mind.

Now let me tell you about my Aunt Betty. But first, I know she was loved by so many here, sooo, for heavens sake, she must have shared her HOMEMADE ROLL RECIPE WITH SOMEONE HERE? NO, I don’t need the recipe, I would gladly pay someone to ship a batch to Halifax at Christmas time… Just for the pleasure of texting a Picture to Scott, showing off those famous Rolls..

· I asked Uncle Bob if he could make them, he said, good heavens, No

· I asked Scott, he looked at me and laughed

· I said, what about Pat, then both Jeremy, and Ryan laughed?

NL09day6 (29)

MY AUNT Betty, Loved her Family.. The Pictures of Josh, Jeremy, and Ryan hung everywhere, and she even included pictures of my son Jake. She kept everything, including some written, and some scribbles from the boys.. Jeremy in his defence said last night, I WAS ONLY 4? I talked to MY Aunt Betty as often as I could on the phone, and she would always ask, Have you spoke to Scott on the phone lately. She would be upset, if I said I didn’t.. I secretly think she wanted Scott and I to have to the same wonderful relationship that Mom and My Aunt Betty shared.

Family extended way beyond the Traditional for My Aunt Betty. I know the Turner Family, Wayne, Michael, Meagan, Gaye, and others, I hope not to offend here today, but too numerous to mention.

  • The Explorers, and Camping groups that she visited, and shared stories and sung with.
  • Her Church Family
  • All she considered to be so close.

Now, My Aunt Betty loved School, and to Teach.. That’s GREAT… But if you’re an eight year old boy, who visiting a Detachment in Deer Lake, and just because your marks aren’t so great in English, that’s no reason to have him endure 4 Hooked on Phonic’s books, while your Cousin Scott is out on his Dirtbike. I’m still scarred from that one. Smile

Jeremy, Ryan, Scott, and I looked through a lot of My Aunt Betty’s photo’s, and I really think she could have been a Model.. Not only was she Beautiful, but she loved to POSE, and POSE, and POSE.. But she did it very well. For those of you who know my mom, I have no idea how they came from the same family. Mom was famous for her housecoats, and My Aunt Betty was famous for how well she dressed, and the clothes that she wore.

My Aunt Betty Loved to Dance, and when her and uncle bob got on that dance floor, oh boy, it was something to watch. If I was judging Dancing with the Stars, and they were on it, they would have got a 10 from me. Not that I watch Dancing with the Stars, Just Saying!!

My Aunt Betty loved her Gardens, and apparently one TREE in her backhard. We found a Picture of that ONE TREE, for 2009, 2010, 2011, and 2012 on their computer. They either kept forgetting that they took that Picture, or SHE really loved that TREE!!.. I know she did Uncle Bob.

There is so much LOVE in this room, we all feel it, and I know my Aunt Betty Feels it… There is so much love between my Mom and her Sister, Although…. There ere times eh Scott!!

But they always found their way back to each other with one of her Patented BIG MY Aunt Betty HUGS.. I so loved those HUGS..

I will always remember the HUGS that my Aunt Betty gave me as we were leaving her house, they were BIG, and TIGHT…

Now, I know My Aunt Betty, My Uncle Charl, My Uncle Ray, and My Mom, are in heaven right now, sitting around a table, enjoying a bottle of moose, a dominion, and maybe a Drink… A Janes family re-union, and hoping not to get kicked out of heaven.

In closing, I would like everyone to do something for My Aunt Betty!

I would Like everyone to please Stand-up, and I would like you to HUG your loved one, like you’re Hugging My Aunt Betty, because I know, she will feel it..

Thank-you, and I love you My Aunt Betty

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mark Brown
    Oct 29, 2013 @ 18:26:37

    That says it all Goob. Betty was a wonderful lady with a beautiful family who she loved dearly. I am sure she would be “right” proud of you today. God bless my friend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

