CBU via the Cabot Trail

 

Had the opportunity this week to travel to Cape Breton University on business.  Thought to myself, Self, take the bike, and let’s go via the Cabot Trail..   Some would say, within the top 10 rides in North America. 

I met one gentleman from Ontario who suggested it’s as high as Number 2?  Then again, he was riding a Harley.

So, pack the bags, get the bike ready, and off we go on the Varadero.  Weather was PERFECT.  Not to hot, but comfortable with the mesh pants, and my 3-in-1 Balistic Joe Rocket Hi-vis / Mesh jacket.

The first 3 hours was pretty much highway riding..  Stopping a few times to get fuel for the body, and the Varadero.

IMG00187-20110704-1952

IMG00188-20110704-1954

Ok, I felt like I was back in Newfoundland riding, and low and behold, a Bog Doggie…

IMG00190-20110704-2009

I was a little late leaving thus, it was getting dark, coming down the other side, via Ingonish and smokey.

What I didn’t realize was that the Engish Town Ferry runs 24 hours.  Great stuff..  Left turn and then on to Sydney for a night at the delta, before meetings at Cape Breton University.  

The return home was via the Cabot Trail in the Opposite direction, which you absolutely have to do.  One way, is Just not enough!!

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Dan
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 10:54:59

    Awesome…I hate you 🙂 I did the same run last Sept on the XR650L and had a blast. I hope to do it this year on the Varadero. See ya soon. Dan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

